"A theory is something nobody believes, except the person who made it. An experiment is something everybody believes, except the person who made it."

Albert Einstein

Contents © 2004-2011 Massachusetts
General Hospital

NIGMS logoInflammation and the Host Response to Injury is a large-scale multi-disciplinary research program involving a number of institutions and fields of knowledge. The program is supported by the National Institute of General Medical Sciences (NIGMS), a component of the National Institutes of Health. Click on the NIGMS logo to the right for a link to their Web site.

The institutions funded by or otherwise associated with our research program are outstanding laboratories and clinical centers of excellence. The Glue Grant has fostered a high level of cooperation, mutual respect, and collegiality among the community of investigators than previously existed. As we have tackled our research initiative, we have been pleased that we have included many accomplished scientists and investigators. These are well-recognized experts with a very broad geographic distribution in the many diverse disciplines including clinical medicine (surgery, internal medicine, anesthesiology, infectious disease, endocrinology, health policy, nuclear medicine, pathology, pharmacology, physiology, critical care medicine, and emergency medicine), animal science, biochemistry, biophysics, microbiology, immunology, molecular and cellular biology, physical chemistry and biochemistry, engineering and material sciences, genomics and genetics, computational biology, bioinformatics, and biostatistics.

Our overall strategy is to sustain the infrastructure, resources, tools, and methodologies developed in this Glue Grant Program through funding collaborations with other federal funding agencies, industry, and/or other nonprofit organizations.

These institutions include:

Awardee Institution

Massachusetts General Hospital
Ronald G. Tompkins, MD, ScD, Mehmet Toner, PhD, H. Shaw Warren, M.D., David A. Schoenfeld, Ph.D., Laurence Rahme, Ph.D., Grace P. McDonald-Smith, M.Ed., Douglas Hayden, M.A., Philip Mason, Ph.D., Shawn Fagan, M.D., Yong-Ming Yu, M.D., Ph.D., J. Perren Cobb, M.D.

Participating Institutions and Investigators

Boston University Medical Center
Daniel G. Remick, M.D.

Brigham and Women's Hospital
John A. Mannick, M.D., James A. Lederer, Ph.D.

Loyola University Medical Center
Richard L. Gamelli, M.D.

Northwestern University School of Medicine
Michael B. Shapiro, M.D.

Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
Richard Smith, Ph.D., David G. Camp, II, Ph.D., Weijun Qian, Ph.D.

Princeton University
John Storey, Ph.D.

Stanford University
Ronald V. Davis, Ph.D., Michael Mindrinos, Ph.D., Wenzhong Xiao, Ph.D. (now MGH), Wing Wong, Ph.D.,
Rob Tibshirani, Ph.D.

UMDNJ/Robert Wood Johnson Medical School
Stephen Lowry, M.D. (deceased), Steven Calvano, Ph.D.

University of Alabama School of Medicine
Irshad Chaudry, Ph.D.

University of California, San Francisco, San Francisco General Hospital
Michael A. West, M.D., Ph.D., Mitchell Cohen, M.D.

University of Colorado/Denver Health
Ernest E. Moore, M.D., Jeffrey Johnson, M.D.

University of Florida College of Medicine
Lyle L. Moldawer, Ph.D., Henry V. Baker, Ph.D., Philip A. Efron, M.D.

University of Michigan Medical School
Ulysses G.J. Balis, M.D.

University of Pittsburgh Medical Center
Timothy R. Billiar, M.D., Juan B. Ochoa, M.D., Jason L. Sperry, M.D.

University of Rochester Medical Center
Carol L. Miller-Graziano, Ph.D., Asit K. De, Ph.D., Paul E. Bankey, M.D., Ph.D.

University of Texas Medical Branch School of Medicine
David N. Herndon, M.D., Celeste C. Finnerty, Ph.D., Marc G. Jeschke, M.D., Ph.D. (now U. Toronto)

University of Texas Southwestern Medical School
Joseph P. Minei, M.D., Brett D. Arnoldo, M.D., John L. Hunt, M.D., Jureta Horton, Ph.D. (deceased)

University of Washington School of Medicine (Seattle)
Ronald V. Maier, M.D., Avery B. Nathens, M.D., Ph.D., Joseph Cuschieri, M.D., Nicole Gibran, M.D., Matthew Klein, M.D., Grant O’Keefe, M.D.

Washington University School of Medicine (St. Louis)
J. Perren Cobb, M.D. (now MGH), Bernard Brownstein, Ph.D., Bradley Freeman, M.D.